Kariobangi Sharks condemn Kakamega Homeboyz as FKF Premier League resumes

The match was the first one to be played since the top-tier was suspended in March owing to the rising cases of the Covid-19

Kariobangi Sharks claimed a 1-0 win over Kakamega Homeboyz in a Football Kenya Federation Premier League encounter at Utalii Grounds on Friday.

Patilah Omoto scored the only goal that separated the two sides in the first half and the visitors were unable to find an equaliser even with numerous attempts later on.

The league’s top scorer Erick Kapaito would have scored an opener in the ninth minute but he was denied by Geoffrey Oputi from close range. However, the hosts managed to break the deadlock in the 18th minute when Omoto capitalised on a defensive mistake to punish Kakamega Homeboyz.

Brian Bwire’s save in the 21st minute helped Sharks from conceding from David Odhiambo’s shot. Omoto would have added the second but his ambitious long-range strike hit the crossbar in the 25th minute. 

Kapaito was not successful with his trick to lobe the ball over Oputi in the 41st minute as the hosts were more dominant. A combination between him and James Mazembe failed to extend the lead in the 45th minute as the latter failed to beat the visiting goalkeeper while in huge space.

Homeboyz coach Nicholas Muyoti made a change in the 53rd minute when he brought on Robert Arrot for Stephen Etyang while Willaim Muluya made his first change for Sharks a minute after the hour mark throwing Peter Lwasa into action in place of Eric Juma.

Mazembe wasted another chance for Sharks when he found himself on a one-on-one situation with Oputi but he blasted wide in the 63rd minute. 

Homeboyz defender Benjamin Oketch was yellow-carded in the 80th minute for a foul on Robert Onyango. Another yellow card for the visitors came out in the 84th minute and Okoth was the recipient this time around.

The Friday game has opened doors for more matches to be played on Saturday and Sunday as the Premier League resumed from the March suspension.

Kariobangi Sharks XI: Brian Bwire, Geoffrey Shiveka, Boniface Onyango, John Kuol, Patilah Omoto, Douglas Mokaya, James Mazembe, Fredrick Alushula, Eric Juma, Julius Masaba, Erick Kapaito.

Subs: Brandon Nathan, Alphonce Omija, Peter Oudu, Shaphan Oyugi, Ronald Odede, Robert Onyango, John Omondi, Peter Lwasa, Ibrahim Ochieng.

Kakamega Homeboyz XI: Geofrey Oputi, Benjamin Oketch, Thomas Wainaina, Sylvester Owino, George Oduor, Francis Omondi, Ali Bhai, Christopher Masinza, Stephen Opoku, David Odhiambo.

Subs: David Juma, Arrot Robert, Kovelo Mophat, Stephen Mukongolo, Derrick Onyango, Bonaventure Atse, Collins Odhiambo.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *