Ex footballer, Finidi George faults coach Gernot Rohr over AFCON qualifiers squad

Former Tremendous Eagles participant, George Finidi, has faulted coach Gernot Rohr’s squad record for Nigeria’s 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers towards Benin Republic and Lesotho. 


On Tuesday, March 9, the German coach launched a 24-man record that included Tremendous Eagles captain, Ahmed Musa, who has been with no membership since leaving Saudi Arabian facet Al Nassr final October.


Genk striker Paul Onuachu, who has scored simply as soon as in seven appearances, has failed to copy his membership type for the nationwide staff. For his membership, he has scored 26 targets with three assists in 30 video games throughout all competitions. 


Talking with Punch, George Finidi admitted that Musa is a high quality participant who has achieved quite a bit for the nation however shouldn’t be on the record on the idea of type or health.


The 49-year-old former winger additionally questioned the method of inviting gamers to the nationwide staff earlier than saying that striker Paul Onuachu’s poor type with the Eagles has been all the way down to poor teaching.


“Coaches must be made to defend their record after they give you names which might be questionable. Coaches shouldn’t be left alone.


“They need to be made to elucidate how they arrived at sure selections on who they invite. Journalists ought to query the names on the record.”


“I’ve an issue along with his record, choosing centre-backs as midfielders and right-backs within the midfield.”


“Within the case of Paul Onuachu, who was snubbed, if you’d like a participant to carry out, you arrange your formation in a approach to make him snug. He has struggled largely due to poor teaching.”


“That is Rohr. The coach you count on to take us to the World Cup and win the AFCON. If he was a Nigerian that made these selections, we’d critique him, however right here’s a coach who’s supposedly very skilled, the alternatives are questionable.”


The Tremendous Eagles will face Benin in Porto Novo on March 27 earlier than going through the Lesotho three days later of their ultimate 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier on the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, on March 30.


See full squad record under.




 John Noble, Maduka Okoye, and Francis Uzoho. 




Kenneth Omeruo, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Tyronne Ebuehi, Ola Aina, Jamilu Collins, Zaidu Sanusi, and Chidozie Awaziem. 




Wilfred Ndidi, Abdullahi Shehu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Semi Ajayi, and Joe Aribo. 




Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Victor Osimhen, Sadiq Umar, and Samuel Kalu. 


Standby record.


Paul Onuachu, Peter Olayinka, Terem Moffi, Michael Olise, Daniel Akpeyi, and Henry Onyekuru. 


Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *