The Azam FC shot-stopper made a return to the Cranes squad for the primary time since 2016 and he’s eager on serving to the group qualify for Cameroon

Uganda goalkeeper Mathias Kigonya insists he needed to be affected person to get one other alternative to play for the nationwide group.

The Azam shot-stopper is within the squad getting ready for the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers after 5 years out within the chilly.

He has additional said he was not beneath any stress since he was optimistic of constructing a return to the Cecafa Senior Problem Cup defending champions.

“Soccer is all about time; I simply have been affected person on a regular basis and I really feel so good to be again on the nationwide group,” Kigonya revealed.

“I’ve not been beneath any stress, figuring out that the time will come. I didn’t hand over and I’ve been working onerous to get again to the nationwide group as a result of it’s each participant’s dream.  

The Cranes will host Burkina Faso in Group B of the Afcon Qualifier at St Mary’s Kitende Stadium earlier than enjoying Malawi away 5 days later.

The previous Vivid Stars and Sofapaka FC custodian believes with teamwork, the mission to safe a ticket to Cameroon is feasible.

“The primary goal is qualifying,” Kigonya added. “We simply must work along with fellow gamers to see that we at the very least obtain one thing this time round.”

Nevertheless, the 25-year-old may have skipper Denis Onyango and Salim Jamal to take care of for an opportunity to be within the first XI.

Uganda Provisional Squad:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal Magoola (Al Hilal Omdurman, Sudan), Mathias Kigonya (Azam FC, Tanzania), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda).

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada(Azam FC, Tanzania), Elvis Bwomono (South Finish, England), Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell, Scotland), Murushid Juuko (Categorical FC, Uganda), Mustafa Kiiza (DC Montreal, USA), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Dennis Awany (FC Ashdod, Israel), Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Garvin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa, Uganda).

Midfielders: Mike Azira (New Mexixo United, USA), William Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel Kfar Saba- Israel), Allan Okello (AC Paradou, Algeria), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Moses Waiswa (SuperSport United, South Africa), Taddeo Lwanga (Simba SC, Tanzania), Abdu Lumala (Pyramids FC, Egypt), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC, Uganda).

Forwards: Fahad Bayo (FC Ashdod, Israel), Daniel Isiagi (Jomo Cosmos, South Africa), Faruku Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey) Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Emmanuel Okwi (Al Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Patrick Kaddu (Youssoufia Berrechid-Tunisia).

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *