The Yenagoa-based club became the first team from the second division to lift the prestigious Cup since Dolphins FC’s feat 20 years ago

Nigeria National League club Bayelsa United have won the 2021 Aiteo Cup after defeating NPFL side Nasarawa United via penalty shoot-out after a 2-2 draw at the end of extra-time.

After they narrowly missed qualification for next season’s continental competitions, Nasarawa United – who finished fourth in the Nigerian top-flight table – turned their attention to the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium on Sunday.

The Solid Miners, however, could not overcome Bayelsa United who secured the last qualification ticket for next season’s Caf Confederation Cup with a 4-3 win in the penalty shoot-out.

It was an intriguing first 45 minutes in Benin as both teams found the back of the net with the Yenagoa-based outfit opening the scoring in the through Inikurogha Okardi in the 19th minute. The lead did not last long as Nasarawa responded through Chinedu Ohanachom’s equaliser.

Towards the half hour-mark, Aliyu Abdullahi linked up with Silas Nwankwo to put the Solid Miners in front with their second goal but in the 36th minute, Bayelsa United replied with their leveller.

It ended 2-2 in the first-half and both sides struggled to grab the match-winning goal after the restart and in the extra-time before the encounter ended into a shoot-out.


Sunday’s celebration was not just for the men’s team as the Bayelsa Queens also claimed the women’s title and a cash prize of 10 million naira.

Queens defeated FC Robo 4-2 at the same venue in Benue  before their men fought their way to victory after 120 minutes of football.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *